Seven-Layer Cookie Bars

I feel blessed that, although I never got to meet my mother-in law (sadly, she passed away from breast cancer before I had the honor of meeting her), I have been lucky enough to carry on some of her most scrumptious dishes. I love being able to make her pepper steak, chicken curry, raisin rice and so many other great recipes for my husband, taking him back to his carefree childhood days, and I know it means a lot to him when I make them.

I especially enjoy making his mom’s seven-layer bars and made them over the weekend. They are so quick and easy to make. The ingredients are usually already in my pantry and hardly any utensils are needed, which makes clean up a breeze! All you need is a 9×13 inch baking pan, a set of measuring cups and a small pan to melt the butter.

I have been making these bars for years. They are delicious and always a big hit just as they are, but as I have been on a mission to incorporate more coconut oil into my diet lately, this time I decided to replace the 1/4 cup of melted butter for equal amounts of coconut oil. The results were so good!! I highly recommend it (and I’m sure my mother-in-law wouldn’t mind :)). I will probably make them this way going forward.

Seven-Layer Cookie Bars

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1/4 C melted butter
1 C graham cracker crumbs
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 C coconut
6 oz chocolate chips
6 oz butterscotch chips
1 C chopped walnuts

Lightly spray sides of pan with cooking spray to prevent sticking. Spread melted butter to cover the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking pan. Then simply layer each ingredient in order. Take care to spread each ingredient evenly so each bar gets every bit of deliciousness.

20140413-205656.jpg.
Bake for about 25 minutes. Let cool completely before cutting. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Seven-Layer Cookie Bars

Leave a comment