Cranberry-sauced Pork Chops it is!

It’s apparently still winter here in New England so… Cranberry-Sauced Pork Chops it is!

One of my favorite recipes from my mom is her cranberry-sauced pork chops. It’s probably more of a fall comfort meal but, given that another snow storm was brewing (it IS nearing the end of March, isn’t it??), I thought it might be nice to bring a little comfort home last night. Since there were only 2 of us, I only made 2 chops but I didn’t cut the amount of sauce because I love sauce!

In a pinch, I’ve also used orange juice in place of the apple cider and it works just fine. I’ve also used boneless chops in the past but I like the tenderness of the bone-in better.

Cranberry-Sauced Pork Chops

6 pork loin rib chops, cut ¾ inch thick
1 T butter
½ C apple cider or apple juice
1 C (1/2 of a 16 oz. can) whole cranberry sauce
2 t cornstarch
1 t brown sugar
½ t finely shredded orange peel
Salt and pepper to taste

Sprinkle chops with salt and pepper. In skillet over medium-high heat cook chops in hot butter for 3-4 minutes or until brown, turning once.

20140326-200101.jpg
Drain fat and then pour the apple cider over the chops. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 5-6 minutes or until pork juices run clear.

Transfer chops to a platter and keep warm.

Reserve ½ C of the juice in the skillet.

For the sauce: stir together the cranberry sauce, cornstarch, brown sugar and orange peel. Stir mixture into reserved juices in the skillet. Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir for 2 minutes more.

To serve: Pour sauce over chops!

(While I do actually enjoy making my own risotto, because it was a weeknight, I cheated a little with a store-bought version of butternut squash risotto. I did change it up slightly by using chicken stock (it called for water), and sautéing shallots and a little mushrooms to go in it. Finally, I topped with a bit of freshly grated parmesan and a little bit of pepper.)

This guy was chomping at the bit to try it. Hope you are, too. 🙂

20140326-201655.jpg

Leave a Reply

